Virtual Open House

Welcome to our Virtual Open House.  We are excited to share with you the Bergen Catholic Difference and provide you with insight into how our programs help young men become Christian gentlemen.  Founded and staffed by the Edmund Rice Christian Brothers, we are a faith-based school offering service programs that balance our academic life at Bergen Catholic.  There are numerous rewarding mission and community-based service programs that help bring students closers to their faith and further understand the teachings of our founder, Blessed Edmund Rice, and the Essential Elements that help guide us and prepare us for life.

At Bergen Catholic, we are committed to teaching good manners and etiquette and expect our young man to learn the importance of being polite and treating each other fairly.  We also expect our young men to treat others with respect and learn the importance of giving back in an effort to help those less fortunate.  Our rigorous academic programs challenge students in all areas and help them reach their potential.  We offer 18 Advanced Placement courses and have partnered with local universities to offer over 15 dual enrollment courses.  These courses give students the opportunity to earn college-level credit while in high school.  Our teachers continue to lead the way and I remain impressed by their dedication and decades of service to Bergen Catholic.

Our Crusader College Counseling Experience is truly unmatched.  This college placement program begins in grade 9 and we partner with families to ensure that students are on the best track to maximize college acceptances and merit-based scholarship offers.  We continue to enjoy multiple acceptances to top colleges throughout the US and receive record levels of merit-based scholarship awarded to members of the senior class.

One of the greatest opportunities at Bergen Catholic is for all students to be part of the Brotherhood.  With over 700 students on campus and more than 12,000 alumni, our community is focused on ensuring we are all successful in high school, accepted to great colleges, positioned well for internship opportunities, and ready to launch a rewarding and fulfilling career in the workforce.  Every day is a great day to be a Crusader!  Thank you for joining us and we look forward to taking the journey with you and your family.  May God bless you and keep you safe.

Dr. Brian Mahoney
President

Downloads:

Virtual Open House

Crusader Coffee Series

Tuesday May 26, 2020 at 7pm: Performing Arts at BC with Mrs. Barbara Peraino, Director of Performing Arts, and Ryan Kitz ’19

Wednesday May 27, 2020 at 7pm: the Crusader College Counseling Experience with Mrs. Beth Walter, Director of College Counseling

Thursday May 28, 2020 at 7pm: The Role of Guidance at BC with Mrs. Whitney Niles, Guidance Counselor

Tuesday June 2, 2020 at 7pm: the Academic Experience at BC with Mr. Jorge Mascaro ’84 and Mr. Michael Rucereto ’10, STEM instructors

Wednesday June 3, 2020 at 7pm: the BC Experience with Mr. Tim McElhinney, Principal

Thursday June 4, 2020 at 7pm: The Parent Experience, with 

Mrs. Monica Borg AP ‘17 CP ‘21, Mrs. Marykate Menapace CP ‘21, Mrs. Colleen Staff  CP ‘22 and ‘23, Mrs. Lynn Syslo AP ‘18 CP ‘21


Tuesday June 9, 2020 at 7pm: the BC Athletic Experience with Mr. Brendan McGovern ’10 and Mr. Joe Haemmerle ’86, Associate Directors of Athletics 

Wednesday June 10, 2020 at 7pm: the BC Difference and the Future of BC with Dr. Brian Mahoney, President 

Thursday June 11, 2020 at 7pm: Admissions Q&A with Mr. Matt Rosa ’08 Director of Admissions and Mr. Bill Leonard ’10 Director of Outreach 

Performing Arts:

Mrs. Barbara Peraino, Performing Arts Chair
Email Address: bperaino@bergencatholic.org

Mr. Ryan Kitz ’19, current sophomore at Boston College
Email Address: kitzr@bc.edu

College Counseling:

Mrs. Beth Walter, Director of College Counseling
Email Address: ewalter@bergencatholic.org

Guidance:

Mrs. Tara Maka, Director of Guidance and Student Success Center
Email Address: tmaka@bergencatholic.org

STEM and Virtual Learning:

Mr. Jorge Mascaro ’84, Technology, Engineering, and Art Chair
Email Address: jmascaro@bergencatholic.org

Mr. Michael Rucereto ’11, STEM Instructor
Email Address: mrucereto@bergencatholic.org

BC Experience:

Mr. Tim McElhinney, Principal
Email Address: tmcelhinney@bergencatholic.org

Parent Experience:

Monica Borg AP ’17 CP ’21: the6borgs@mac.com
Colleen Staff CP ’22 ’23: colleen_staff@yahoo.com
Marykate Menapace CP ’21: mkatefm@gmail.com
Lynn Syslo AP ’18 CP ’21: Syslolm@gmail.com

Athletics at BC:

Mr. Brendan McGovern ’10, Associate Director of Athletics
Email Address: bmcgovern@bergencatholic.org
Mr. Joe Haemmerle ’86, Associate Director of Athletics
Email Address: jhaemmerle@bergencatholic.org

BC Difference and Future of BC:

Dr. Brian Mahoney, President
Email Address: bmahoney@bergencatholic.org

Admissions Process:

Mr. Matthew Rosa ’08, Director of Admissions
Email Address: mrosa@bergencatholic.org

Mr. Bill Leonard ’10, Director of Outreach
Email Address: wleonard@bergencatholic.org